Haul and Kat Von D InnerStellar Review

IMG_0324

Made a few new friends! We’ve moved quickly past the acquaintance phase and have arrived safely in Friend Town! Although I am a bit closer with the Nars Sheer Glow and InnerStellar palette at the moment as I have swatched both. Hopefully this will be remedied tomorrow after my shower when my self and Mr. OCC Lip Tar in Black Metal Dahlia move to first base. The Fresh Black Tea eye cream and the Laura Mercier eyeshadow primer are both from Sephora’s Christmas sample thingy going on now and are both actually quite satisfying sizes.

IMG_0327

I LOVE all of Fresh’s Black Tea creams. They are wonderful, but they are STUPID spensive so I live off of samples when I can….
IMG_0326
Yeah, so those aren’t even the one’s I have open. I should just buy the .5oz of the Lotus Youth Preserve, but so many samples. Oh! I should mention. Don’t take my advice on skincare. I do have a connective tissue disease so what works for me may wildly differ from what works for you.

IMG_0328

I am also living off of deluxe sized samples of eye primer. I literally have so much I won’t need to buy any for the next two years. I’m guessing this works like eye primer. Surprising, right? I’ll get back to you on this one whenever I end up getting curious and adding it into the rotation. I’m currently trying to finish off an old Urban Decay Primer Potion, Lorac’s primer (it’s REALLY nice), and a Smashbox primer that are all like half gone and older than my pet rabbit.

IMG_0329

This beautiful angel and I have yet to get close as I mentioned above. I have watched SO many tutorials on the OCC Lip Tars and I think I’m ready to give it a try. I think I plan on layering it over LimeCrime’s Red Velvet Velveteen just in case, but apparently if you put these on correctly they should last a decent amount of time. We shall see, WON’T WE. Don’t let me down OCC!

IMG_0340

I smeared this white goo on my neck and chin last night. I was color matched a long time ago by a lovely 80 year old woman who also taught me how to apply makeup like a pro. It was awesome. She told me I was the hardest person she has ever had to color match in all her days of doing what she does. I don’t know if I should be proud, but I am. I got Mont Blanc because it’s their lightest shade with cool/pink undertones and that is what I am. The color match seems as on point as I personally can get. Some of us will never find our perfect color matches and that is a fact of life, although my foundation struggles pale in comparison to the awful injustice that makeup companies inflict upon women of color. I’m not going to get into that now, but we all see what you’re doing and it’s bullshit. No, a wall of beige and two browns does not mean you have a color for everyone. Stahp.

IMG_0330

Saved the best for last! I’ll try to make this quick since I’m sleepy and swatches > words. All of us who know and love KVD eyeshadows know there is a bit of fallout to work with, but that’s why you do your eyes first! Her shadows, especially her mattes (SWOON), are buttery and blendable. They are truly some of my absolute favorite shadows and she picks suck beautiful colors and combination. I suspect that’s due to the fact that this woman is a legit and talented artist. BUT! These shadows in this palette have virtually NO fallout. How? How was she able to keep the texture without sacrificing the amount of fallout without becoming a cream shadow? I’m so amazed by these. They are PERFECT and if you can get your hands on this palette, don’t think twice. It’s brilliant.

IMG_0332

This is the palette’s face. Kind of boring looking. Some purps, some taupes, some sparkles, some mattes. No glitter, but that’s okay because these are to die for. I’ll take a bullet for this palette.

IMG_0334IMG_0335

This is me trying to give you more views, but due to lazy not doing a great job. The photog in me wants this to be aligned and color corrected and matched SO badly, but the hobo in me says, “Nahhhh, where’d I leave my MD 20/20?” And then rolls over and goes back to sleep.

IMG_0344

This batch wasn’t as pigmented as I would have liked, but the duochrome in Gravitron gave me ladywood.
Gravitron- soft iridescent pink
Vast- pearlized taupe
Lycan- matte cream
IMG_0348

Night Crawler- matte dusty beige
Dios- silvery gray iridescence
Lunacy- rich pearlized purple
Astrological- pale lilac sheen
Darkstar- purplish pewter

IMG_0355

This black is SO black. Holy monkey jesus!
Orion- matte chocolate brown
3am- metallic champagne
Moonshine- metallic silver
Killing Moon- matte black

I don’t really have favorites in this palette. I’ll be fighting myself over what to use first. It’s beautiful and it’s a great addition to the purp and taupe lovers collection. Also, that silver is DAMN glamorous.

Thanks for sticking around till the end! I’ll be getting the last of my Cyber Monday purchases in tomorrow from Lorac. They cancelled my 3d liquid lusters so I’ll have to go track some down while there are still some left. I’ve heard Amazon and Kohls still have them so that is where I’ll look. I’d like to start doing some FOTD posts and vlog type things for the new year. We’ll see how that goes. Health improvement will certainly help with those and I should hopefully finally be getting health insurance very soon. Which means I will be getting married. Yep. If I can do it, anyone can!

Have a wonderful weekend!!

8 thoughts on “Haul and Kat Von D InnerStellar Review

  1. beezy78

    I have this palette, and a backup on the way IT’S THAT GOOD! Glad you like it as much as I do. The shade that gave you “Ladywood”? It’s one of my favorites, it’s better than ‘Aura’ in UD’s Glinda palette!!!
    Anyways, nice to meet you, I’ll be following you now. I have chronic illness as well, we just gotta keep on truckin’… 😘

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. slutoverlord Post author

      That’s wonderful to know about Aura! I have been lusting after that shadow since I missed out on it and it’s nice to know I have something similar. Them duo chromes are the bees knees! Nice to have you!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Norma Johnson

    SO true re makeup companies ignoring people of colour. It’s disgusting to walk into a random drugstore and see all those light/beige colours and like ‘one’ sorta kinda brown -_-. Have you used the Innerstellar palette yet? I love Astrological but by the end of the day it disappeared on my lids :/

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. slutoverlord Post author

      I have had the same issue the the shadows wearing off! I’ve found that the base really matters and I think I like using it with my Smashbox primer the best so far out of Lorac and Laura Mercier. It wore off really badly in the crease with the LM primer. I think the Urban Decay Primer Potion would probably work nicely, but haven’t gotten to try it yet since it’s buried somewhere not worth digging for.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

