A Study in Selfie Makeup

WARNING: I’m not good at the selfies. I blame being old. Also, I can’t do it the non mirrored way like all you other magicians can. I was taught the like use-a-mirror-through-the-back method, but I’m too shaky and I need new glasses so I cannot see shit. So, yeah, sorry about it.
dirtymirror
H
ey. This is my face. I did these looks recently-ish and do not have a working phone of my own so I couldn’t go to selfie town, but hopefully you get the idea despite my camera phone quality.
Face: Primer, Diorskin Pore Minimizer. Foundation, L’oreal True Match Liquid in C2. Contour/bronzing, Too Faced Chocolate Soleil in Medium/Deep. Powder, MUFE HD Microfinish Powder. Blush, Smashbox  Highlight, Mary-Lou Manizer by TheBalm. Concealer, Maybelline Instant Age Rewind mixed with MAC highlight pen in Radiant Rose.
Eyes: Crease, Anastasia shadow in Orange soda. KVD Studded Eyeshadow Palette, Solar (all over the lid), Platonic (Center of lid/halo), Mandala (Crease/inner and outer eye, under the bottom lashes). Mary-Lou Manizer by TheBalm in the inner corners to highlight. Lashes, Red Cherry #43. Liner, Maybelline Master Precise Ink Pen and Smashbox Pencil Liner in Onyx. MUFE Smoky Extravagant Mascara.
Brows: Anastasia Dipbrow in Light Brown. Anastasia Brow Powder Duo in Medium Ash. Anastasia Clear Eyebrow Gel.
Lips: Lipstick, Revlon Black Cherry. Lip liner, Nyx Prune.
Bod: Purple and black halter slip dress, Karmaloop. Black crochet kimono, Forever21.

poopsicle sulfie1
I wanted peacock eyes. So I did the thing. Unfortunately the picture isn’t closer up so it’s not the best to show off, but whatever, at least you get to see my side mullet!
Face: Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Primer. L’oreal True Match C2. Clinique Blended Face Powder. Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Concealer. MAC Highlight Pen in Radiant Rose. The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer. Estee Lauder Blush Discontinued Plum/wine color. MAC Refined Gold Bronzer.
Eyes: Urban Decay Get Baked Palette, used Half Baked and Flipside. KVD Chrysalis Palette, used Lifelike, Glasswing, Entombed, and Tornay. Used Anastasia Brow Highlighting Pencil in the waterline and Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner. Mascara, Smashbox Full Exposure.
Brows: Anastasia Dipbrow in Light Brown. Anastasia Brow Powder Duo in Medium Ash. Anastasia Clear Eyebrow Gel.
Lips: L’oreal Colour Riche Extraordinaire Lip Color in Nude Ballet.
Bod: Some tank top with The Grim Reaper playing with WoMDs and Earth, no big deal. Obey Clothing.

nopebutok
N
ot a selfie, but I loved this look for a Pin-Up Calender I was in. The mua made me feel really pretty (until I puked and ruined everything), which usually I feel very annoyed after having my makeup done for a shoot. I dunno, it always makes me very hungry. She used MAC Face and Body, MUFE HD Microfinish Powder (with flash photography, thus proving that it’s user error that is the problem and NOT the product). It is a MYTH that it will flashback 100% of the time. It only flashes back when you pile it on, it’s meant to be used semi-sparingly to set the makeup. She also used the same brow powder I’ve been using since 2008 which made me feel like maybe I’m doing something right… Or maybe I’m just a makeup addict.

Shoes from Bordello and Dress from Motel. Hair dyed with mostly Pravana Violet, but some other stuff mixed in there by my lovely friend Katie who is a WONDERFUL hair magician and if you are ever near the DC area and need your hair done I can give you her info. She’s fantastic at what she does and I have never been disappointed with what she’s done to my hair.

I think I also liked this because it used most of the same products I use and have at home so it was easy to recreate on my own time. Unfortunately, I can’t show most of the makeup looks I’ve had done because I really doubt any of you want to see my tits. Usually if my makeup was amazing, there was some nip action. I’ll see what I can find though. I don’t feel right cropping anything because that’s someone else’s art, ya know?

Typing all this out made me realize just how many products I use. How many products do you use on average?

I smell ham. Like Honey Baked Ham and it smells fucking amazing. Am I having a stroke? It’s 2:55am, no on is up, and I don’t eat meat. What is this!? Why isn’t it in my mouth?

3 thoughts on “A Study in Selfie Makeup

Leave a Reply

