Untried Polish Challenge No. 7

Hola!

Now let’s jump right into it, shall we?! Today we have #7 of this polish challenge, which is ‘oldest’. I pulled out a few I thought might be the oldest, picked one that wasn’t the oldest, and then found out that some of the other polishes in my stash were even older. This is a huge fail on my part. Evey the polish I chose leaves something to be desired.

For this manicure, I chose China Glaze’s Infra-Red that came out in their 2013 Spring/Summer Hologram Collection. Holo is HUGE these days thanks to people like our Goddess, SimplyNailogical. This collection, from what I’ve read, wasn’t the best. I think if you’re looking for a more subdued holo in your polish these would be great for you.

IMG_0683

I believe I did three coats for this one. Why it’s not in my notes, I do not know. It REQUIRES a ridge filling base coat. A top coat is also a must if you don’t want it to be semi-matte as all of these types of polishes dry matte-ish.

Infra-Red is a solid red that leans a scotche fuschia and has a subtle linear holo.

Don’t act like scotche isn’t a word. For you peasants that don’t know this word, it’s pronounced like scotch, but the o is pronounced as o. Some may say it’s a hard o, I’d say you don’t know it’s life and have no room to judge.

IMG_0685

Apart from my pinky finger (which I bumped while the top coat was still wet), you can actually see all the little imperfections where the polish streaked over itself.

When it comes down to it, I really like this polish in the light. Unfortunately, it’s kind of hard to work with, it’s thin, it LOVES ridges, etc etc. I really wanted to like it, but it was as lackluster as I was promised. I’ll probably refrain from picking up any of the other ones in this collection from my wishlist.

Welp, that’s all I got for this one. Next time we have ‘Newest’. I chose to go with new as in came out more recently since I got a lot of these polishes at the same time and don’t have any truly old polishes in my collection that I’ve never used.

Beat it Chump,
Jenn

 

Leave a Reply

